League of Legends ranks 2024: Complete Guide to Process

League of Legends ranks: As one of the most beloved online games, League of Legends remains immensely popular with over 110 million active players worldwide in 2020 alone; proof that despite its decade old age and widespread presence online, newcomers continue to join and sign up.

Beginners looking to improve their League of Legends skills might not yet understand all the terminology surrounding Riot Games’ LoL ranking system and how you can reach its top tiers – this topic of our discussion today!

What is the League of Legends rank system?

league of legends ranks 2022

League of Legends features a competitive ranked system where players compete to determine their rank or tier. To participate, they must reach level 30 on their account.

League of Legends offers more than just its ranked system; players can also experience ARAM and normals games modes. After reaching level 30, players will unlock ranked mode and can compete in competitive ranked matches to earn League Points (LPs).

League of Legends rank At Different Level

Iron and Diamond both consist of four levels, and must be completed before proceeding to the next. Chess has no divisions between challenger, grandmaster and master rankings; rather the divisions increase until only one remains. If one wants to advance through to Platinum then Gold IV, Gold I and then Platinum IV must all be cleared first.

Once you reach 100 League Points (LP) in any division, you have advanced to the next one. To reach the next rank after earning 100 LP in Division 1, win three of five promotional series games in order to advance further. Should your promotional series become unfavoured due to losses or cancellation, you will be returned to lower LP positions with an opportunity to regain it later.

In ranked League, losing streaks may put you at risk of being demoted – particularly after reaching zero LP in any division. While you might occasionally receive an “extra game”, more often than not this means being demoted to a lower division and working your way back up again.

There are nine ranks in League. You can find them listed below in descending order.

  1. Challenger
  2. Grandmaster
  3. Master
  4. Diamond
  5. Platinum
  6. Gold
  7. Silver
  8. Bronze
  9. Iron

Why is it so hard to get into the S ranks?

Riot offers a system that evaluates your individual performance at the end of every game giving a grade according to how well you performed in a role on set against other players. To attain more champion mastery players must perform better during gameplay this grade reflects your contribution against others on set and should increase with experience gained over time.

Grades can be found in the following ranges:

  • S (+, normal, -)
  • A (+, normal, -)
  • B (+, normal, -)
  • C (+, normal, -)
  • D (+, normal, -)

The S grade is also required to upgrade your champion mastery to Tier 6 or 7. You’ll need to outperform your opponents in the same champion if you want to succeed. Kills, deaths, assists, creep score, and vision score are just a few of the factors that go into grading. Additionally, because grading is role-specific and champion-based. Veigar and Pyke, two champions with average high kills, have a much more difficult time achieving a S grading.

Read Also: Apex legends: system requirements and more

Do you know how to reach the highest level in LOL?

According to the aforementioned divisions and tiers, the ranking system is constructed. Players are referred to as “promos” when they reach the promotion stage after accumulating 100 “lp.” You must win two of your next three games to advance to the next level. Three wins in your next five games are required for promotion. If you miss out on promotion, you’ll lose some LP, but you’ll get a free win the next time you enter promotions for the same rank.

Each player also receives an “MMR,” or Matchmaking Rating generated by the system based on past and current performance. The ranking system uses this rating to assign them to “fair” teams, and to calculate loss or gain of “lp.” For instance, winning streaks raise your MMR above that of the average in your division/tier and enable you to gain more LP per victory as this system was designed to give power to top performers while giving less to non-competitors.


No matter your understanding of League of Legends’ ranking system, as it will adapt and recognize your skill level as you play with passion, challenge yourself and have fun!

Why discuss the League of Legends ranking system? In general it can be beneficial to look at your entire picture in regards to League of Legends rankings. Being able to look back over where you’ve come and where you are going in this game can provide useful insight. You and other players can observe your progression over time and how far you have come.

Readme Also

Avatar of Aakash Srivastava

AAkash has been an avid gamer since he was a youngster. He enjoys spending his time evaluating and writing reviews for both video games and technological products. That is, whenever he is not too busy strolling aimlessly around the streets of Los Santos.

Leave a Comment